I’ve always been a big time Conor McGregor fan; you can search back to 2012-2013 on my blog to find this out, way before he reached half the fame he has today.

Last night, Floyd Mayweather toyed with McGregor and TKO’ed him in the 10th round. As I expected, McGregor was out of his element, but again, I don’t blame him for going after this fight, because he showed us all that you can be anything you want to be in this life, and you can talk yourself into a hell of a whole lot of things in this world. He earned a shithorde of money, more than most people will ever make in their lifetime, and I think that’s something to admire.

A lot of people are praising McGregor for lasting ten rounds with Mayweather. I guess that’s an OK accomplishment, but as a seasoned boxing fan, the only reason this fight went on for as long as it did is because Mayweather allowed it to. If you’ve watched previous Mayweather bouts, he fights differently. In this one, he walked McGregor down, took his best shots and let him swing away, something he has never done in the past. After Mystic Mac wore himself out and became exhausted, Mayweather tee’d off on him.

Simple as that.

Now, hopefully we’ll be back to regularly schedule MMA programming… I want to see McGregor defend his Lightweight title against the likes of Tony Ferguson or Khabib Nurmagomedov. Or both, eventually. Unfortunately, I’m not sure that will happen. Who knows. McGregor might ride this boxing money train and we’ll see an unnecessary fight between him and Paulie Malignaggi in six or seven months. I hope that’s not the case, but damn it, I can imagine it.

I don’t care to see boxers or mixed martial artists switch sports like this. I enjoy both sports, but I believe you should stay in your lane. Again, I can’t blame McGregor for taking the boatloads of cash from this bout, but oftentimes you attract idiot fans from both sports who have cheeto dust on their fingers and chicken wing grease stains on their t-shirts who exclaim the opposite sport sucks. Example: “man, all MMA is 2 dudez humpin’ one ‘nother. Real men stand’n’bang!” by boxing fans and “Real fighting involves kicks and ground’n’pound!” by MMA fans. Those are vociferations echoed by simple minded dumbasses. I’m sick of nonsense like that. What’s wrong with being a fan of both sports?

Jon Jones popped for steroids for the second time last week. He’ll probably be forced to relinquish the UFC light heavyweight title soon enough. What a bummer. Maybe it was ‘tainted’. Probably not. This makes me disappointed. Daniel Cormier is one of the all-time greats, and could be considered in the “greatest of all-time” discussion, but now he’s lost two fights to a potential steroid user, and in this last fight he was knocked out and humiliated in front of the entire world from being concussed. That is utter bullshit.

I know that anabolic steroids run rampant throughout all professional sports. In some cases, in some sports (like Major League Baseball, which I’d prefer to see amphetamines legalized…), anabolic steroid usage does not bother me, but in contact sports like MMA and boxing, when you can seriously injure your opponent in a sanctioned fight, it sickens me.

I hope, in my heart, that it was simply just a tainted supplement ingested by Jones, because I enjoy watching him fight, but if he absolutely intended to take ‘roids for recovery, strength and weight cutting purposes, then that’s a damn shame.

Leave a Reply

