The Los Angeles Rams are once again the Los Angeles Rams.

I bought this throwback LA Rams t-shirt at a Champs Sports store in Johnson City, TN in June 2004. It hasn't been worn in years. It's old and a bit stretched out from use a long time ago, but it's more relevant today than ever.
I bought this throwback LA Rams t-shirt at a Champs Sports store in Johnson City, TN in June 2004. It hasn’t been worn in years. It’s old and a bit stretched out from use a long time ago, but it’s more relevant today than ever.

I’ve said my peace about the culmination of this. Stan Kroenke is, well, a you-know-what. I’ll let you decipher the meaning of that. I feel for the die-hards that resided in the city of St. Louis. They’ve been spurned twice. I hope they’ll continue to support the team. If not, I fully understand.

If there is one thing I will NOT miss about the St. Louis Rams, it is the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

From Bernie Miklasz, Jim Thomas, Jeff Gordon and, more recently, Ben Hochman, the Post-Dispatch has done a disservice to the Rams and its fans over the years. The paper has, in my opinion, been antagonistic towards the team for years (beginning long before Stan began implementing his LA plan). They’ve always being quick to criticize, deride, condescend and ridicule. Its writers conveyed an attitude of entitlement, failing to accept a sports franchise can’t always provide total access.

I don’t think this is how it is in all cities with all clubs. I lightly follow the Miami Dolphins (again, my late father’s favorite team), and I always found the coverage of the Dolphins far more balanced and positive.

I’m certainly not suggesting that the St. Louis Post-Dispatch played a significant role in the demise of the Rams in St. Louis (it would have happened regardless of their approach). However, I, as a Rams fan, found the St. Louis Post-Dispatch to be an increasingly hostile place over the past decade or so.

Hopefully, even beyond the inevitable “honeymoon” period, the local press in Los Angeles (I assume the leading source is the L.A. Times) will employ a far more positive, upbeat and constructive approach.

After all, at least for us fans (i.e. the readers), it’s just a game.

One thought on “California Dreamin’ — And Why I Won’t Miss the St. Louis Post-Dispatch

  1. I would have to say the two Philadelphia papers are more like the St. Louis paper than not. They provide fairly balanced coverage if the team gives them access and is doing well…but if they struggle to get stories or if the team goes in the toilet they can get quite nasty. The way the four major sports teams are performing now…well you can just imagine what they are like now. Cynical, skeptical. Can’t really blame them. The four teams/organizations really are struggling right now and there definitely is no “cheering in the press box.” I never thought St. Louis should have lost the football Cardinals. This will now end pro football for good there in my opinion. (I like the shirt!)

Leave a Reply

