ufc184

(Nice song selection, UFC! “A Girl Like You” by Edwyn Collins.)

This is going to be the first UFC I’ll be missing (unfortunately, thanks to weather-related restrictions) since April 2013.

The planning around this MMA event was, and is, pretty interesting. Cyborg won her Invicta fight last night under a minute, demolishing her opponent and, tonight, UFC women’s bantamweight contender Holly Holm is fighting in the co-main event, and pending a win for both her and the champ Ronda Rousey, there’s a potential fight a’brewing.

Rousey is facing challenger Cat Zingano tonight. Both are undefeated, but one of those zeros are going to fall.

Before I continue, I just want to say that Cat Zingano falls under the category, “one bad motherfucker” to me. Listen, I write, to the extremes, that I admire the living shit out of people who have gone through true, deep, anguishing adversity that’s pushed them to the brink. When I was constantly angry, bitter and heartbroken a couple of years ago because of one human being that I previously thought very highly of’s poor decisions, I found a way to sublimate it all into positive pursuits and endeavors (that’s one of the keys), despite how rough that time was. After Zingano defeated Miesha Tate back in 2013 to earn her number one contendership spot against Rousey, she got injured and was sidelined, losing her place in the division. A few months after she was injured, her husband, with whom she has a daughter with, committed suicide.

All this time later, Cat Zingano has battled back and climbed to the mountaintop to meet the lion of the women’s bantamweight division, ‘Rowdy’ Ronda Rousey.

Anyhow, despite how much I admire Zingano’s physical and mental toughness to keep pushing, striving and kicking adversity’s ass, I reckon Rousey is going to take her apart tonight, mostly because I can’t imagine Zingano having answers for Rousey’s judo. Nobody in the women’s division has shown any competence in that department of MMA and it’s showed. Rousey is head and shoulders above any and everybody else in her division. I’d like to see how well Holly Holm would do against her, but I only believe Cyborg has the most veritable, legitimate shot at taking down the champ.

Prediction: Rousey by armbar (round 1).

I still see a lot of people, and I mean male MMA fans, bitching about women’s MMA. This has to be due to some underlying insecurities or something. I’m not sure why that is. When I’ve taken my casual MMA fan-friends to watch UFCs, they always ask me if there is going to be a woman’s fight, and if there is, they get so damn excited, because from what they’ve seen — and I tend to agree — most of the women’s fights in the UFC have been competitive and close-quarters combat conflictive. They go after one another. A lot of men pussyfoot (shitty pun not really intended) and are scared to death to engage in strikes. Most women fighters go right at one another, and it’s great.

Ronda Rousey is the biggest American star in the UFC right now. Bigger than Jon Jones. Honestly, ‘Bones’ Jones’ only claim to fame right now is that he’s basically undefeated (let’s forget the Matt Hamill debacle, please) and people want to see him lose more than anything. But going back to Rousey, she truly is the biggest American UFC star. She’s a bit of a villain herself within the community of die-hard MMA fans, but meh, I see no reason to dislike her: she’s the best in the world at what she does and she’s a hot chick. Do you know what that means? Money for Dana White. That’s what. It would be huge if they could convince Gina Carano to come back for a quick superfight (RR would demolish her), and if they could make the Cyborg fight happen, one of these days.

Leave a Reply

