I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t excited for the Floyd Mayweather, Jr. and Manny Pacquiao fight that’s happening on May 2nd. However, the bottom line is that this fight should’ve happened five to seven years ago. I was on here, TSTOS, five years ago calling for the fight to happen, as a combat sports fan, as Pacquiao’s camp attempted to pressure Mayweather’s camp into accepting the fight.

Of course, the fight never reached fruition until now, with both guys slightly out of their prime, and it’s after Mayweather won the negotiations (he did) in Mayweather fashion.

I’ve been a ‘Pacman’ fan ever since I got into boxing, from his days as a reckless southpaw that brought the fight to his opponents with speed and deathly precision! Ever since then he’s trained with Freddie Roach (who Roots Of Fight also has a badass t-shirt of, which I love) and has become a more evolved fighter. I’m not a detractor of Floyd Mayweather, though; Mayweather will probably use his counter striking to out-point Pacman and pick up a UD. I would’ve picked Pacman if this was 2010.

For the record, I’m more excited about UFC 187 on May 23rd (barring injuries/guys busted for PEDs: Jon Jones/Rumble Johnson, Chris Weidman/Vitor Belfort, Donald Cerrone/Khabib Nurmagomedov and, probably, Joseph Benavidez/John Moraga).

Leave a Reply

