I’ve vehemently disliked the New England Patriots since Super Bowl XXXVI on February 3, 2002 but I’ll never understand the hate for Tom Brady. The disdain for head coach Bill Belichick makes sense to me, because he has that to-himself smug attitude about him that easily rubs a lot of people the wrong way, but the detestment of Brady has always irked me. The biggest thing he has ever done to aggravate me is to pass for only 107 yards in the aforementioned Super Bowl and be awarded the MVP when I reckon it should have gone to the greatest Patsies player of all-time — Adam Vinatieri.

The Patsies are going back to the Super Bowl for the sixth time (in the Brady-Belichick era), counting that day in 2002, and they’ll be facing the Seattle Seahawks, a team that throttled Peyton Manning and the Denver Broncos one year ago. Why in the blue hell is Peyton Manning relevant to this post? Because, as per he and Brady being lumped together each time you mention one or the other, it’s inevitable.

I’ve never been a fan of Peyton. I’ve been vocal about this over the last eight years on my blog. I respect the numbers he’s put together over the years, but I’ve never respected his low quality work in the playoffs and I can’t stand the “Peyton face” he rocks on the sidelines when he knows he made an idiotic play. That look is the most anti-leader, self-defeating, “I-succumb-to-thee” look in the world. Shit’s egregious.

Yet Peyton is largely beloved by the American public, and you see people bemoaning, “He’s classy!”, “He respects the game!”, “He’s funny!”, “He’s your average guy!”, “He’s relatable!” It’s funny how people are so gullibly controlled by the media and advertising. Just because they see Peyton on Saturday Night Live, in those visa commercials back in the day, the car commercials and the Papa John’s commercials. Peyton isn’t relatable. He’s just painted in that light by the media and in advertising. I guarantee you if you looked at the house he owns and the way he lives, saying that he’s “relatable” by the average American would be mocked.

On the flipside of the coin, Tom Brady is largely despised by most American football fans that abhor the Patsies. He’s a California guy who went to Michigan that won three Super Bowls, went to two others (before the upcoming one) and married a supermodel. But really, Brady is probably more relatable than Manning to the average American, because Tom grew up an average boy. Peyton grew up with a silver spoon in his mouth because of his NFL playing dad. Brady didn’t have that luxury. Brady was never the most athletic player on the field nor the most talented. Brady’s story of growing up is like realizing the American dream, becoming a multi-Super Bowl winning quarterback and marrying a goddamn supermodel. How more fucking American can you be than that? I don’t want the Patsies to win the upcoming Super Bowl (nor do I want the Shesquawks to win, so I’m in a bind), but I’m a realist.

People just hate extreme success.

People just hate extreme winners.

And I have no idea why. I suppose it’s rooted out of envy. It makes no sense to me. I can’t relate to those feelings, because rather than looking at successful, extreme winners with envy, I like try to look at what makes them successful and apply some kind of tactic into my own life in some way. That’s what everybody should do, but instead, most people are molecular structured doofuses about it and would rather pound out verbal hate from a keyboard instead of doing something useful in their lives.

Peyton Manning is fortunate to have a Super Bowl ring. I remember back in the year 2000, watching the Colts-Dolphins playoff game with my dad, and he (my dad) stated, “Peyton will never win a Super Bowl”, and looking back fifteen years later, my dad was damn-near right! In 2007, Manning and the Colts had the fortunate opportunity of playing Rex Grossman, the worst quarterback to ever start for an NFL team in Super Bowl history, and the Chicago Bears. The game was relatively close until Grossman turned the ball over and relented the game.

Peyton has never had one worthy, memorable playoff moment derived out of individual performance. Tom has had several. Even the 2007 AFC title win over the Patsies isn’t a memorable one for him, because that game was won thanks to a heinous second half collapse by the Patsies and an impeccable running game by Joseph Addai and Dominic Rhodes in the said half.

I’ll continue to be amused by the hate slinged at Tom and the love extended to Peyton, because it’s all bullshit media/marketing manipulating American sports fans. Regardless, both are all-time greats and obviously first ballet hall of famers.

One thought on “Tom Brady, Peyton Manning and Why I’ve Never Understood the Hate-to-Love Dynamic of the American Public

Leave a Reply

