Yeah, I’m predicting an Anderson Silva win via second or third round TKO. (Muay Thai clinch + knees; classic “Spider”!)

Here’s Weidman’s comments:

I’m telling Anderson Silva my game plan. This is my game plan; I’m going to walk forward, I’m going to put pressure on him, I’m going to cut him off. If he has his hands down, I’m punching him in his face. If he has his hands up, and he’s expecting me to punch him in the face, I’m taking him down. I’m not afraid to get hit. I’m going to be walking forward with my chin down, and my teeth gritted. I don’t care what he throws at me, I’m going to be there. I have to beat Anderson Silva this next time. I have to solidify my first victory, and solidify myself as a champion by winning again.

Chris Weidman is ignorant (I’m a Weidman fan; don’t mistake my comments as those made by a detractor). And that’s not a bad thing, like many think. Ignorance is bliss. The incumbent Middleweight world champion is 10-0, having most recently knocked Anderson Silva out cold back in July at UFC 162. He’s ignorant because the thought of losing hasn’t crossed his mind; maybe it has, but he has no idea what it feels liked on a professional mixed martial arts level, the soul-crushing emotional pain and mentally taxing agony.

Weidman will walk into the octagon on December 28th at the MGM Grand Arena in Las Vegas with that same feeling of not knowing. He’s not been through that experience (losing). But he’ll walk into the cage after having already knocked out the greatest mixed martial artist of all-time.

Will he do it again?

Leave a Reply

