I vehemently detest the San Francisco 49ers, but despite that disdain that I harbor for those sumbitches, I’ll give credit where credit is due: they took care of the St. Louis Rams yesterday 23-13, solidifying a season sweep of their division rivals. I detest the Baltimore Ravens and Joe Flacco a bit, too, considering how Flacco hogged the salary cap over there and the Ravens gave away Anquan Boldin to the 49ers for nothing, as he caught 9 passes for 98 yards against the Rams’ ailing secondary yesterday.

Here’s what I don’t get: the Rams’ defensive line is probably the best in the entire NFL right now, but their secondary is unsightly and somehow worse than last year’s, despite having much of the same personnel out there. Of course, there is TJ McDonald, who’s injured — the guy was showing promise with his smash mouth hits in the beginning of the season before being placed on injured reserve.

I haven’t blogged about the Rams in weeks because there’s been an elephant in the room for at least three of those weeks: they throttled the Indianapolis Colts 38-8 and dominated the Chicago Bears 42-21. I was getting excited, but I didn’t want to say a word. I have to admit that I bought into the hype and emotionally invested, just like I normally do when it comes to my beloved sports teams, but of course the Rams’ true colors were exemplified through their play yesterday. We (us Rams fans) were pointed out to the fact that Kellen Clemens truly has earned the nickname (dubbed by one Troy Sparks), “Doctor Backup Quarterback”, personified.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m not going to down the Rams’ D — they played their hearts out, but the offense couldn’t keep up when opportunities were in reach.

Same old unreliable Rams.

Same old sorry ass Rams.

5-7.

Ah, well, the NFL Draft is only a little over four months away, and with the Redskins sucking it up, the Rams’ draft picks will be crucial.

Leave a Reply

