Ah, the sweet, sweet sound of the MLB postseason. Y’know, baseball’s regular season is painstakingly long — 162 games to get through — and I hardly consider any conventional baseball rivalries to be just that: rivalries. When two divisional ‘rivals’ play each other 16 times a year, I just fail to get hyped up for a game. I mute the TV anytime ESPN promotes Cubs/Cardinals or, the most overrated rivalry in all of sports, Red Sox/Yankees.

But the playoffs? I tune in and watch, but only when the St. Louis Cardinals are playing. And for the third consecutive year, they are back in the NLCS. Last year, they led the San Francisco Giants 3-1 before blowing three straight games and watching the Giants win their second World Series in three years instead of winning their (Cardinals’) second in a row.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: back in 2011, I wrote about how the Cardinals should let Albert Pujols walk. Pujols is my favorite baseball player of all-time, but I prophesied that a position player shouldn’t receive the money he was asking for, not in baseball (if I were a general manager/owner, I’d only pay that kind of money to top notch NFL quarterbacks or top tier star NBA players). People called me an “idiot” and that I didn’t know what I was talking about or that the Cardinals would be “fucking morons” (their words) to not pay Pujols. Well, they let Pujols head on over to Los Angeles to join the Angels after the 2011 season was over (and after winning the World Series), and in 2012 the Angels missed the playoffs, while the Cardinals went so far as to being one game away from going back to the World Series.

Now, in 2013, the Cards are back in the NLCS for the third year in a row and they’ll play the star-powered Los Angeles Dodgers. No Pujols, and once again no problem. Speaking of Pujols, yeah… the Angels missed the playoffs yet again and he had a short season. Enjoy the next eight years of abysmality, Angels fans. I’m glad his best years were in St. Louis. The Yankees should learn from their own mistake (paying that joke Alex Rodriguez that monster deal in 2007) and from the Angels’ mistakes (Pujols AND Josh Hamilton) by NOT paying Robinson Cano the horse shit contract he wants. Tell him to go take a hike and fuck off with the Colorado Rockies or someone.

I’m proud of the Cards! Now it’s time to oust the Dodgers and make quick work of whoever comes out of the AL. If it’s the Red Sox, then I’m smelling the sweet aroma of revenge and pure justice (dating back to the 2004 World Series which is still fresh in my mind).

2 thoughts on “The St. Louis Cardinals Head to the NLCS (Again)

Leave a Reply

