So it’s January 3, the third day of the year of 2009, and it took me this long to put up my New Year resolutions. So sue me. Let’s get the shabang bangin’.

1.) Blogging more: So I started off with a hot streak in 2008, blogging like a madman, but then everything slowed down and the blog plateaued. The blog plateued at such a tranquil pace that I eventually was only writing about six or less blogs a month. In November, for the first time in TSTOS history, I didn’t even blog at all. Not a single time. And I was ashamed. So I’ve made a comeback. Slowly but surely. I’ll try to build on that.

2.) Tackle more issuesin sports: I could have done more of that the past two years, but I dwelled on issues I shouldn’t have dwelled on, and it may have gotten me somewhere, but I want to be better than that.

3.) Limit the use of expletives: One of my literary idols, Hunter S. Thompson, used many expletives in his work, but he was also a writing fiend and a journalistic genius, something I am not (yet). I want to cut back on expletives and be crafty. A couple of hells are OK, but not too many. Expletives usually depict a lack of a lexicon, and that’s not how I want to be perceived when people read this blog.

4.) Be a better writer than before. So I have made vast improvements, but I’m never going to stop trying to be better. Heck, this will be my New Years resolution next year, and the year after that, and the year after that, and so on! Good, better, best; never let it rest till your good is better and your better is best.

5.) Meet more sports bloggers (or bloggers in general). Thanks to VeRonda, Sportsattitude (sadly no longer a blogger), Jake Ball, and everybody else who has regularly read TSTOS for being a reader. I cannot even begin to describe my unmitigated gratification!

2 thoughts on “Five New Year Resolutions

  1. I enjoyed your blog and the fact that you’re a fellow Rams fan. However, you did disappear for a minute. So, I was caught off guard by the sudden new posts. I’ll try to come by often again. I’m not a sports blogger per se, but a sports fan. And I do love my Rams (even through all the times they break my heart). Look forward to more material from you.

  2. Thanks for reading and commenting, DC. I really appreciate it. And sorry for not updating for a while. I had no inspiration and the Rams’ disastrous losses to the Cardinals, Jets and Bears during the month of November really brought me down to mother earth.

Leave a Reply

