If anyone’s interested, I definitely recommend you guys checking out these books:

Now I can die in Peace by Bill Simmons. The Sports Guy, being one of my favorite and admirable writers, this was a must get for me. It’s an archive of his articles from 1998 to October 2004 of his beloved Boston Red Sox. He adds side notes on the extra columns of the pages with what he now thinks of what he wrote. This is an excellent book, despite having to read about how much he enjoyed the Sox whipping my Cards in the ’04 World Series.

TO: The Terrell Owens Story by Terrell Owens and Jason Rosenhaus. I’ve always disliked Owens, yet I was prepared to read his book. I was interested in what he had to say about his fading relationship with Donovan McNabb. Also, Owens included parts of his childhood in the book, and the guy has been through a lot. His high school sweetheart promised that they’d get married once she got back from Iraq, yet she was killed over there, and it hurt Terrell a lot, as he wrote; his grandmother, who he graciously loves, has Alzheimer’s. While I’m still not a fan of Owens, yet I don’t dislike the guy as much as I use to, this is a pretty good book and I recommend it to those who don’t want to be smacked in the face with a few of Owens’ comments. I definitely do not recommend this book to Philadelphia Eagles fans for obvious reasons, as Owens speaks harshly on McNabb, and how he wished he could have been friends with him, but the friend meter spoiled between the two.

LeBron “the King” James by Ryan Jones. I purchased this book in June 2004. It’s not of his NBA career of course. It’s more of his game back in his high school days, and how he so desired to become an NBA player one day. Jones covers LeBron’s past days, and how James played ball in school. I recommend this to anyone who are interested in reading of ‘Bron’s days back in school, where many might not know a lot about, other than his current days of ballin’ in a Cleveland Cavaliers jersey.

The Sixth Man by Chris Palmer. This is a definitely great NBA book. Palmer goes in depth into the NBA, featuring the lives of Luol Deng, Richard Hamilton, Tracy McGrady, Andre Miller, a few cuts with LeBron James, Elton Brand, and others I can’t think of at the moment. This was back in the 2004-2005 season, and it’s a great read in my mind. He takes the NBA fan into the lives of NBA players and how they live, what goes through their mind, what they coherently speak of in the locker rooms, and a bunch more.

One thought on “Recommended Books….

  1. I read that TO book to. After reading that, his agent and the Eagles organization is to blame for the Eagles incedent. He was cool with McNabb at 1st, but honestly, I think McNabb was jelous that TO got all the spotlight as “Mr. Philly” Nobody can question his work ethic off the field. Unbelievible work ethic. His diet tht he explained in the book, I can guarentee you nobody else does, it’s so healthy and nutrient-filled. I still don’t necesarily like the guy, but I don’t hate him either. He had some real screwy things happen to him.

Leave a Reply

