I also wrote this over on my RamsBlog: I just can’t help but replay Super Bowl XXXVI over and over again in my mind. It was one of the most saddest days of my life. I know it sounds pathetic, but when a team you love loses in the grand daddy of them all, it makes you wonder what could have been. How would have the world changed if the St. Louis Rams defeated the New England Patriots on February 3rd, 2002? I just keep thinking about that. There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think of something relevant to Super Bowl XXXVI. However, I just want to thank the New England Patriots for making me even more of a fan of the St. Louis Rams. Because of that loss, I’m a bigger Rams’ fan to this day. I will explain that in a moment.

Since it’s the off-season, and I’m not going to get into any draft talk just yet, since I just created this blog a short few days ago, I thought I would toss some of my thoughts and comments out on this game — Super Bowl XXXVI — the game that we lost, that I became a bigger fan in. It’s just something indescribable. Maybe it was the hate of the Patriots that really stirred me awake, but when my Rams were upset that game, losing by a ball going through the uprights as time expired, I knew from then on — I’m a die-hard Rams fan.

The day was just like nearly an ordinary day in the first few hours of the morning. I turned on SportsCenter, watched many highlights of Marshall Faulk’s dominating performance earlier that season (finishing just shy of teammate Kurt Warner in the MVP voting.) I was just smiling in glee and ah of being able to of been able to watch the GSOT (Greatest Show on Turf) era unfold. I was really excited that morning for the upcoming game. It felt like an ordinary day, though. It seemed like it was just a bunch of SportsCenter promo’s as usual. However, as the day progressed, I watched even more and more Super Bowl coverage.

Throughout the day, the only thing that kept ringing in my head was “the Rams will dominate the Patriots,” “there’s no chance that the Patriots win this game,” “this Rams’ offense has changed the way the NFL is played, and they will capture their second Super Bowl today.” However, I thought many times in my mind “what if..” I always asked myself that “what if” question and what I aked myself that day was, “what if we lose to the Patriots? We have a great offense, and all, but upsets generally happen when a team is being raved on way too much.” I sat back, and said to myself a big “nah.”

Most Crushing Defeat

Super Bowl XXXVI. My Rams were 14-point favorites in that game. But The Greatest Show On Turf opened up the game 3-0, then Ty Law intereception return for a TD that shouldn’t have been (Roughing The Passer should have been called), after that we seen a Brady to Givens play, then a Vinitieri FG that put the Pats up 17-3 in the Third Quarter

It’s the Fourth Quarter, I was emotionally drained and basically felt like I was on my deathbed. All of a sudden, my Rams seemed to have life, the refs have been awful the whole game, and it’s 4th and goal, Kurt Warner tries to sneak into the end zone, but he FUMBLES the ball and it’s returned all the way for the TD, it seemed as if the Pats had a 24-3 lead, but thank God, there was a holding penalty of Patriots’ then-linebacker Willie McGinest. 4th and 1 yard for the score, Warner sneaks it in and the Rams are only a touchdown away from tying this baby, it was 17-10.

The Rams got the ball back with 1:51 left to go in the game, I was so nervous, striking quick passes, an 18 yarder to Azhir Hakim, 11 yarder to Yo Murphy, then we hit Ricky Prohel 26 yards for the score, and the Rams have tied it up! I couldn’t believe it, I was so happy, I just thought… we are going to overtime baby! WOO! And then….

The Pats had no timeouts left, 33 seconds left, Brady kept making some razzle dazzle pass plays, hitting Jermaine Wiggans to get to the Rams 30 yard line. Brady then spiked the ball with seven seconds remaining on the clock. They said the Patriots were lining up for a FG, at the time, I have never heard of this young man, Adam Vinitieri, he was about a 2-4 year kicker at the time, was pretty decent, and I was hoping that he would miss it.

He lined up for the kick, snap up, kick up……kick good, Pats win, Pats win, Pats win I heard on my TV. I remember that game just like it was yesterday. It broke my heart over ANY other sports moment in history. It also was agony seeing the Patriots go on to win another 2 Super Bowl’s, and BOTH of them were by Field Goals from Vinateri. It pains me very much. Even pains me more than the Carolina-double overtime-playoff loss from 2 years ago, that we could have gotten a rematch against the Patriots in Super Bowl XXXVIII that year, possibly. Didn’t happen. However, with the Patriots defeating us, I’m more of an extremely die-hard fan of the St. Louis Rams.

Leave a Reply

